On Wednesday 20 March 2019, ahead of World Down Syndrome Day on Thursday 21 March, Down Syndrome International (DSi) is delighted to announce the recipients of the 2019 World Down Syndrome Day Awards.

The World Down Syndrome Day Awards are presented to individuals or organisations whose voluntary, professional or scientific activities have strengthened and enriched the lives of people with Down syndrome, or contributed to scientific advancement related to Down syndrome.

This year’s recipients are as follows:

Voluntary and Professional Awards


Individual Category

Nawal Al-Nasser (United Arab Emirates)

Vanessa dos Santos (South Africa)

Cora Halder (Germany)

Teresa Kaczan (Poland)

Lynda Johnson (Italy)

Myo Pa Pa (Myanmar)

Matias Prado (Uruguay)

Leila Haram Raouda (Lebanon)

Anisa Shamsuinova (Uzbekistan)

Organisation Category

Aura Foundation (Spain)

Ensemble Citoyens! (France)

HOPE Qatar Center for Special Needs (Qatar)

Libya Down Syndrome Association (Libya)

Rwanda Down Syndrome Organization (Rwanda)

The Public Foundation of Parents of Children with Down syndrome “Sunterra” (Kyrgyzstan)

Down Syndrome Association Turkey (Turkey)

Scientific Category

Dr Macarena Lizama (Chile)

Dr Brian Skotko (United States)


All recipients are invited to a formal presentation of World Down Syndrome Day Awards taking place at the 14th World Down Syndrome Congress (WDSC) in Dubai, United Arab Emirates in November 2020.