Join us for an exciting programme of webinars on World Down Syndrome Day (21 March 2022) as we ask what #InclusionMeans.

We hope you will help us to share the key messages from the events. Together we can improve quality of life for people with Down syndrome and disabilities around the world.

Please register for each event that you wish to attend (all of these events are FREE).


WORLD DOWN SYNDROME DAY PROGRAMME - 21 March 2022

#InclusionMeans with the DSi Ambassadors

5:00 am (EST) / 10:00 am (UTC) / 11:00 am (CET)

Our team of Ambassadors have spoken to self-advocates in their countries and will be talking about what inclusion is like where they live.

REGISTER TO ATTEND


Inclusive Education

6:30 am (EST) / 11:30 am (UTC) / 12:30 am (CET)

Join us for a discussion on the concept of 'Inclusive Education', the inclusion of children with special educational needs and disabilities, and effective practice in the classroom. This webinar is part of our campaign in the United Kingdom.

REGISTER TO ATTEND


#InclusionMeans at United Nations Geneva

8:00 am (EST) / 1:00 pm (UTC) / 2:00 pm (CET)

Self-advocates from around the world will explain in their own words, "Inclusion Means ..."

REGISTER TO ATTEND

DOWNLOAD PROGRAMME


#InclusionMeans at United Nations New York

DOWNLOAD PROGRAMME

Session 1: 11:00 am EDT / 3:00 pm UTC

#InclusionMeans... Official opening and launch

Following a welcome and opening remarks from DSi and UN Mission representatives, we will look at what inclusion means for people with Down syndrome and disabilities in countries around the world.

REGISTER TO ATTEND

Session 2: 12:00 pm EDT / 4:00 pm UTC

#InclusionMeans... in Education

We will look at what inclusion means in education for people with Down syndrome and disabilities in countries around the world.

REGISTER TO ATTEND

Session 3: 1:00 pm EDT / 5:00 pm UTC

#InclusionMeans... in Employment

We will look at what inclusion means in employment for people with Down syndrome and disabilities in countries around the world.

REGISTER TO ATTEND

Session 4: 2:00 pm EDT / 6:00 pm UTC

#InclusionMeans... in Health

We will look at what inclusion means in health for people with Down syndrome and disabilities in countries around the world.

REGISTER TO ATTEND

Session 5: 3:00 pm EDT / 7:00 pm UTC

#InclusionMeans... in Organisations

We will look at what inclusion means in organisations for people with Down syndrome and disabilities in countries around the world.

REGISTER TO ATTEND


Why 'inclusion means'?

The United Nations, in the general principles of the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (UN CRPD), calls for “full and effective participation and inclusion in society”.

Everyone should have the same opportunities, take part in the same activities, be able to go to the same places and enjoy the same experiences in life.

But around the world people with Down syndrome and disabilities do not benefit from full and effective participation and inclusion in society.

There are many reasons for this. One reason is a lack of agreed understanding about what inclusion is and what inclusive systems look like in practice.

Not everyone understands:

  • how to include people with Down syndrome and disabilities;
  • how full inclusion benefits everyone – with or without disabilities;
  • what is happening around the world to bring about inclusion for all.

Read more about #InclusionMeans:

#INCLUSIONMEANS

Booking for this event has now closed.