11th World Down Syndrome Day Conference

For World Down Syndrome Day 2022 we are organising the 11th World Down Syndrome Day Conference (WDSC) at the United Nations Headquarters in New York.

Monday 21 March 2022

11:00 am - 4:00 pm (Eastern Daylight Saving Time)

3:00 pm - 8:00 pm (UTC - Coordinated Universal Time)

This is a virtual event that you can join via Zoom or UN Web TV.

DOWNLOAD PROGRAMME

At this conference people with Down syndrome and disabilities, supporters and advocates, government and UN officials and NGO representatives will explain what inclusion means

They will be sharing knowledge and experiences from countries around the world.

We hope that all those who attend gain a greater understanding about what inclusion means. 

We ask you all to share the key messages from this event. So we can work together to improve quality of life for people with Down syndrome and disabilities around the world.


Why 'inclusion means'?

The United Nations, in the general principles of the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (UN CRPD), calls for “full and effective participation and inclusion in society”.

Everyone should have the same opportunities, take part in the same activities, be able to go to the same places and enjoy the same experiences in life.

But around the world people with Down syndrome and disabilities do not benefit from full and effective participation and inclusion in society.

There are many reasons for this. One reason is a lack of agreed understanding about what inclusion is and what inclusive systems look like in practice.

Not everyone understands:

  • how to include people with Down syndrome and disabilities;
  • how full inclusion benefits everyone – with or without disabilities;
  • what is happening around the world to bring about inclusion for all.

Read more about #InclusionMeans:

#INCLUSIONMEANS


Session 1: 11:00 am EDT / 3:00 pm UTC

#InclusionMeans... Official opening and launch

Following a welcome and opening remarks from DSi and UN Mission representatives, we will look at what inclusion means for people with Down syndrome and disabilities in countries around the world.

REGISTER TO ATTEND


Session 2: 12:00 pm EDT / 4:00 pm UTC

#InclusionMeans... in Education

We will look at what inclusion means in education for people with Down syndrome and disabilities in countries around the world.

REGISTER TO ATTEND


Session 3: 1:00 pm EDT / 5:00 pm UTC

#InclusionMeans... in Employment

We will look at what inclusion means in employment for people with Down syndrome and disabilities in countries around the world.

REGISTER TO ATTEND


Session 4: 2:00 pm EDT / 6:00 pm UTC

#InclusionMeans... in Health

We will look at what inclusion means in health for people with Down syndrome and disabilities in countries around the world.

REGISTER TO ATTEND


Session 5: 3:00 pm EDT / 7:00 pm UTC

#InclusionMeans... in Organisations

We will look at what inclusion means in organisations for people with Down syndrome and disabilities in countries around the world.

REGISTER TO ATTEND


Sponsors

DSi is extremely grateful to our sponsors:

  • The Permanent Mission of Japan to the United Nations in New York
  • The Permanent Mission of the Republic of Poland to the United Nations in New York
  • The Permanent Mission of Australia to the United Nations in New York
  • International Disability Alliance
  • Unicef

You might also be interested in the following events:

#InclusionMeans at United Nations Geneva

#InclusionMeans with the DSi Ambassadors

Booking for this event has now closed.