For World Down Syndrome Day 2021 we will bring the world together to #CONNECT in a series of online events.

Register to take part in these events happening all week leading up to WDSD 2021.


What changed for us in 2020?

The DSi National Representatives share the stories of over 100 people with Down syndrome from 14 countries.

Monday March 15, 8:00 am UTC and 2:00 pm UTC

Watch


DMSD @ OEA

La Organización de los Estados Americanos, OEA, celebra el Día Mundial del síndrome de Down con el webinario "Conectar para Incluir".

Tuesday March 16, 3:00 pm EDT/7:00pm UTC

Watch


Opening and Launch of 10th World Down Syndrome Day Conference - #CONNECT (WDSD @ UN New York - Session 1)

We look at the importance of connecting for people with Down syndrome and intellectual disabilities, in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Wednesday March 17, 10:00 AM EDT/2:00 PM UTC

WATCH


The importance of inclusion and connection in education - barriers, solutions and COVID-19 (WDSD @ UN New York - Session 2)

We explore the vision of inclusive education, the challenges faced in its realisation and the effect of COVID-19 on education around the world.

Thursday March 18, 10:00 AM EDT/2:00 PM UTC

WATCH


#CONNECT - Ensuring all people with Down syndrome can #CONNECT and participate on an equal basis (WDSD @ UN Geneva)

Self-advocates with Down syndrome will reach out to members of the United Nations Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, government officials, and civil society representatives.

Friday March 19, 2:30 PM CET/1:30 PM UTC

WATCH


How to #CONNECT – barriers and solutions for people with Down syndrome (WDSD @ UN New York 3)

We showcase good examples of connecting and what it can achieve.

Friday March 19, 11:00 AM EDT/3:00 PM UTC

WATCH


#CONNECT for World Down Syndrome Day in Africa

Africa Down Syndrome Network and partner organisations connect and explore the impact of COVID-19 on people with Down syndrome.

Tuesday March 23, 9:00 AM WAT/8:00 AM UTC

WATCH


All of our events will focus on the theme #CONNECT - Ensuring all people with Down syndrome can CONNECT and participate on an equal basis with others.

We will reflect on the need to ensure that people with Down syndrome are not left behind through lack of opportunities to connect and participate in key areas of life.

We will explore the work being done to improve connections now and into the future.

We will empower persons with Down syndrome, their families and advocates to ensure equal rights in this context and to reach out to key stakeholders to bring about positive change.

Speakers will include people with Down syndrome, supporters and advocates, government and UN officials and NGO representatives. They will share their experiences, knowledge and expertise, bringing perspectives from around the world.


Find out how you can get involved in our dedicated WDSD area:

WORLD DOWN SYNDROME DAY